Where do I find my Blackboard Collaborate recordings?
Record your Blackboard Collaborate Ultra sessions so that your participants can access presentations whenever they need them. Stop and restart whenever you need to, and when finished, locate them to share.
Recorded sessions are compressed and saved as MP4s. Recordings include activity in the live session.
- Any content shared or active speaker video. If both are shared during the session, only the content shared is recorded.
- Chat messages in the Everyone channel. Private messages and chat messages in breakout groups are not recorded.
Only moderators can turn recording on in sessions. Everyone can view the recordings from any device as often as they want. There are no view limits.
Recordings need to be converted into a playable format before viewing. The first time a recording is accessed the conversion begins. It may take a few minutes but once is has been done the recording can be viewed by everybody.
Both you and your participants access your recordings under the Virtual Classroom menu on your Blackboard course.
Open the Menu, and select Recordings.
Recordings won’t be available immediately after the session as they can take a while to process, so if you check back an hour or two after your session, you should see it appear.
You can also change the filter to see all recordings. Otherwise, only recordings from the last 30 days will appear by default.
It should be clearly advised at the start of each session by the person giving the session if the session is being recorded so as to enable the participants to make personal choices with regard to their involvement in the recording.
Be sure you read the Privay Notice for Recording of Lectures by NUI Galway
If you want chat messages to be anonymous in the recording, make sure you select that option in Session Settings before you start the session. To learn more, see Session Settings.
Do your participants know how to access your recordings? There are some steps you can take to make this even easier for them.
You can copy and email a direct link to the recording to participants, or post it more visibly on your course under Learning Materials as a weblink.
This makes it even easier for your students to find and view session recordings. However, you should take care that links are not shared if there is any risk to student privacy, and for this reason, it may be wiser to direct students to access the recordings from within Blackboard only.
Need more help on your recording?
See the Blackboard Help notes on recording your session: