How do I remove a Teacher from my Canvas course?
Teachers/Instructors are added and removed from Canvas courses through a data import from the Curriculum Manager system, Akari. This article describes how this work and how you can then remove colleagues who are no longer co-teaching on a Canvas course.
If you wish to remove colleagues on our Canvas course who are no longer co-teaching, you will need to update this on the list of instructors on the Akari module record.
The instructor/teacher will be removed from the corresponding course on Canvas within 24 hours.
Without updating Akari, it will not be possible to remove these users from individual courses. If they are removed on Canvas, they will reappear as the nightly sync occurs.
Find out how to access Akari: https://www.universityofgalway.ie/information-solutions-services/servicesforstaff/curriculummanagementakaridocument/ or speak to your local school administrator or the University Syllabus team.
It is possible for those listed as Teachers to modify their notifications not to receive alerts. See https://community.canvaslms.com/t5/Instructor-Guide/How-do-I-manage-my-Canvas-notification-settings-as-an-instructor/ta-p/1222 for more details.